Saturday! I slept for ten hours last night--rare for me. (I usually can only sleep eight, although that's been changing because I've been getting less most nights.)
Well, somehow at the moment, I feel like I'm sort of in control of my workload at the moment. I'm not overwhelmed! I've turned in my comp sci homework three days before it was due (rather than the night before, as usual). I've already started on a project that's not due till next Monday. Although, I am still concerned about my midterms--haven't studied for the next couple yet. Plus, there is math homework to be done. Still, though, not as bad as usual.
It's simultaneously cloudy and sunny today. I wish the weather here would make up its mind! Hot or cold, please, not both. I don't know how to dress--I always end up being freezing at one point and really hot at another. Frustrating. I know, I know, I'm talking about the weather of all things!
Not a lot else has happened. My roommates were both gone last night. I stayed in and talked on Skype. My life does feel sort of empty. I'm really just trying to get through this year...or should I say the next three. I feel like college is just sort of unreal--I'm here to learn what I need to know, then it won't make much difference for the rest of my life. I just want the degree, really. So I'm not that concerned about making friends or anything; if anything, I'd rather just make industry connections, since those are much more useful and more likely to last. If I meet people here and move back down to LA, I'll never see or talk to most of them again...so it's sort of useless.
Anyway. I haven't got a lot else to say. Bye!
Edit:
That was an...experience. I stepped out of my room to go to the bathroom, and my floormate was sitting on the floor outside her room (across from mine). She told me she got locked out, so I took her in to try to find her roommate's phone number online. Failed, so she asked me to go down to the mail area with her to get a temporary key.....they don't give keys on weekends, so they told us to call the lockout number. We called it...twice...waited fifteen minutes, and the RA finally came and let her into her room. This entire incident took about an hour. ...interesting.
I just want to note the truth of this.
From here.
I hate it when a day is just Bad. Everything tends to build up and it just becomes miserable.
Today started off fine. Woke up late, sat around and did nothing. Roommate was gone, so I enjoyed being alone for the first time in several weeks. (Not that they're not nice, but...) There's a football game tonight. Homecoming. I felt obligated to go, since I bought season tickets. Of course, I did so before realizing that I do not, in fact, like football. Unfortunate.
Anyway, I made plans to go with a couple girls on my floor. That...didn't happen. I assume they just left without me. I desperately did not want to go alone, since I did last time, and it was kind of miserable. So I decided not to go.
My roommate had been on the phone for quite a while and it was tiring to listen to, so I went to the common room (study lounge), but it was too cold, so I came back. Tried to talk to Alex, but he...had better things to do. Getting very irritated then, between the football game and the phone call and being ignored. Listened to some Amanda Palmer and Dresden Dolls...and read MLIA. Unfortunately, didn't make me feel better.
So, here I am. Signed off of Pidgin (my IM client). Not really sure what to do.
So be it. Tomorrow will be better.
I've set up a subdomain of one of my domains (http://blog.templeofanubis.info) to forward here, since I have nothing else to do with it! But that means I probably ought to actually post here. Maybe I'll try chronicling my days, at least for a little while.
Woke up at 8:00. Slept on and off until 8:20. Got up and showered. Used the big shower for the first time--not so different from the others.
Went to my ethnic studies discussion. It essentially got cancelled, since our GSI (graduate student instructor) decided just to collect our papers and let us go. Nice, although...this makes me feel bad about wasting an hour on that pointless discussion every week. I am not a fan of humanities, particularly ethnic studies. It's just a waste of time to me.
I like science. I like astrophysics and I like particle physics. I like evolutionary biology and immunology. I like chemistry. Science. I like science. Unfortunately, I haven't had great experiences in science classes. I would love to be an EECS (Electrical Engineering and Computer Science) major, but it's basically all science and EE classes, and I'm afraid I wouldn't do well in them. So instead I'm taking humanities classes, along with CS (my major is still computer science, just not in EECS). Oh well.
Anyway, came back to the dorm then. Sat around and ate that terrible veggie tempura sushi for lunch for about the twentieth time in a month and a half. Better than nothing. I also almost finished my comp sci homework, yay!
I sometimes forget how important music is to me. I base my mood on what I'm listening to. So not listening to music for long periods of time is sort of like emotional drought. Anyway, I listened to The Cure today, which made me sort of sad:
Tonight I'm feeling like an animal
Tonight I'm howling inside
Tonight I'm feeling like an animal
Tonight I'm going wild
And all I want is to be with you again
And all I want is to hold you like a doll
And all I want is to be with you again
With you again
Just to hold you like a doll
Tonight I'm screaming like an animal
Tonight I'm losing control
Tonight I'm screaming like an animal
Tonight oh I'm getting so low
And all I want is to be with you again
And all I want is to hold you like a doll
And all I want is to be with you again
With you again
Just to hold you like a doll
That's all I want
"All I Want" - The Cure
=( Well, anyway...
Comp sci lecture after that. First half was boring--just more explanation of an example. Second half was questions, much better. At least I stopped nearly falling asleep then. We also got out six minutes early...because clearly it matters.
Came back to the dorm again and did nothing, really. Went to eat dinner--the food was decent tonight! Exciting! I've been eating less and less as the food gets worse and worse. Being vegetarian is hard when you have extremely limited choices. Had frozen yogurt...again. Should probably stop eating it so often.
And now I'm here. Talked to Alex. Random stuff. Sad again. Sleep so early. Oh well.
Tomorrow is the homecoming game. Truthfully, I don't really want to go. It's not fun standing up for three hours, and students aren't "allowed" to sit down (they'll chant "freshman stand up" at you if you do). At least I hopefully won't be going alone this time...

All right, well, that's that for tonight! I'd like to start doing videos and pictures too. For now, here's a picture of me drinking an apple juice box!